Tuesday, February 27, 2024
HomeTravelSchengen Area Countries List

Schengen Area Countries List

The Schengen Area is a territory of 27 European countries that have abolished their mutual borders, allowing for passport-free movement of people within the area. It covers an area of 4,312,099 square kilometers which is 1,664,911 square miles.

Here is the list of the 27 Schengen countries:

On the above list Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, and Lichtenstein are not EU members. They are part of of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).

The European Union member states have a common list of the countries, the nationals of which need a visa in order to enter the Schengen territory. The EU decides on visa exemptions case by case.The Schengen states also have common rules for issuing short-stay Schengen visas, which are valid within the entire Schengen area. These visas allow a person to stay and travel in the territories of Schengen states for a maximum of 90 days in any six month period.

Depending on the purpose of your travel the embassy or consulate of your Schengen destination country will issue you the appropriate visa.

How Can I Gain Entry Into the Countries of the Schengen Area?

To enter a country in the Schengen Area you must present some additional documents at the Schengen port of entry. If you have already obtained a visa for the Schengen area, you need to show your passport with the Schengen visa sticker to the official at the Schengen port of entry. However, they might also ask for proof of purchased Schengen travel insurance and some evidence of accommodation in Europe.

Schengen Area Security System

Technology plays a crucial role in the Security System of the Schengen Area, in the reinforcement of external borders and the collecting, processing, and sharing of information that is relevant to external border management. Read more about the Schengen area security systems here.

Are European Microstates Part of the Schengen Zone?

Though Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican City have no border controls with the Schengen countries that surround them officially they are not part of the Schengen Area. While Monaco has an open border with France, the Vatican City and San Marino have an open border with Italy.Andorra retains border controls with both France and Spain and accepts Schengen Visas (multiple-entry visas only).

On the other hand, Liechtenstein which has been a Schengen zone member country since 2011, does not issue visas but recommends visitors to apply for a visa at other Schengen countries.

- A word from our sponsors -

Most Popular

More from Author

KUPPET Questions Government Directive For Parents To Pay Schools Fees E-Citizen Platform

KUPPET opposes the Government directive for parents to use eCitizen platform to pay...

List of The best AC Repair Companies in Nairobi, Kenya

List of The best AC Repair Companies in Nairobi, Kenya. Air...



- A word from our sponsors -

Bridging Cultures, Building Futures: The Kiige and Emmanuel Initiative for Immigrant Empowerment in Canada

In the heart of Canada's multicultural landscape, Duncan Kiige and Emmanuel, both celebrated public speakers with immigrant backgrounds, have become symbols of hope and transformation for new immigrants. Their recent conference on career and personal development marked a significant milestone in their mission to empower newcomers with...


The NRM government is very proud to see the example of our young people begin to build Uganda by putting up projects such as this one. We congratulate Ham Kiggundu for this excellent jobKAMPALA UGANDA| As sports lovers countdown to 2027 when the Nakivubo-based Hamz Stadium will...

Raila’s search for a post with the AU Commission could be a suitable trapdoor or departure.

In Kenyan politics, Raila Odinga has long been a mystery. His international performance? Even when the African Union designated him, he remained debatable.But he said on Thursday that he would run for the position of Chairperson of the African Union Commission. One diplomat tampered with his first...

Court Finds Jowie Irungu Guilty of Monica Kimani’s Murder

In a landmark ruling, Justice Grace Nzioka declared Jowie Irungu guilty of the murder of Monica Kimani. According to Justice Nzioka, the evidence presented convincingly establishes Jowie's culpability in the crime beyond a reasonable doubt.Highlighting the sequence of events, Justice Nzioka outlined how Jowie, armed with a...

KUPPET Questions Government Directive For Parents To Pay Schools Fees E-Citizen Platform

KUPPET opposes the Government directive for parents to use eCitizen platform to pay school fees calls for clear public participation, legislation and policy framework.KUPPET national officials have opposed the move by Government to force parents to use eCitizen platform to pay school fees saying it will be difficult for...

List of best Audiology Services in Nairobi, Kenya

List of best Audiology Services in Nairobi, Kenya. The word audiology is made up of two roots: Audio and Logy. ‘Audio’ refers to ‘hear’ and ‘logy’ to ‘the study of’. In essence, audiology is the study of hearing - as the inner ear is also required...